Skip to main content
Skip to main content.


Remote Appearance

As of July 1, 2022, and until January 1, 2024, all misdemeanor and felony appearances will be accomplished in person.  Designated hearing appearances may be permitted via Zoom.  Defendants, attorneys, and/or witnesses intending to appear via Zoom are requested to file Request for Remote Appearance: Criminal at least 10 days prior to the court date. 

Payment Options

Payment by check or money order (DO NOT SEND CASH)

Please include your case number on your check or money order. Make checks payable to 'Sierra Superior Court.'

Mail your check or money order to:

P.O. Box 476
Downieville, CA 95936

Or hand deliver your check or money order to:

100 Courthouse Square
Downieville, CA 95936

Online Credit Card Payment

Pay by credit card online:

Pay Now

Find Your Court Date / When to Arrive at Court

Please check the court or legal papers you have to find out the day and time you must appear in court. You can find this information on one of the following:

  • Citation
  • Notice of Hearing
  • Signed Promise to Appear
  • Notice to Appear

If you have questions about your court date, you may also contact the Criminal Division:

By Phone:
(during the hours of 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.)
When you call, please have your case number available (530) 289-3698.

To view when cases are heard, please visit the Court Calendars and Schedule page.

Locating Someone Who Is in Custody

You can find out whether someone who has been arrested is in custody by contacting:

Wayne Brown Correctional Facility
Phone: (530) 265-1291

Cleaning Your Record

Contact the Criminal Division at (530) 289-3698.

For information on how to clean your criminal record (California convictions only), please visit the California Courts website.

Public Defender Fees

Sierra County Tax and Treasury office collects court related fees such as public defender, drug court and probation. Please contact or make payment directly to:

Sierra County Treasurer / Tax Collector
P.O. Box 376
Downieville, CA 95936
(530) 289-3286

Minors Charged with Violation of the Law

The Juvenile Court has jurisdiction over misdemeanors and felonies committed by minors (person under 18 years of age). For additional information and frequently asked questions, please visit the California Courts Juvenile Delinquency page.

Was this helpful?

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.